Sunning diapers

  

There were a lot of things I swore I would do differently if we had a third baby. But now that he’s here, I’m eating my words.

Things like cloth diapering- I was planning on skipping this time. But I missed it, which sounds really weird, I know. 

Here we are on a beautiful sunny spring day and I’m outside, hanging up diapers for a little sun bleaching.

As I slowly clip the diapers towards the warm sun, I’m thinking about my Grandmothers, how they must have done this in the spring too. I wonder how they did the day-to-day grind of parenting and how thier yards smelled in the warm spring sun. 

I think about my mom and how she did the same thing as part of caring for us – sunning diapers. I think about the funny old clothesline at my grandmas house we played with as kids, and how it served a much more utilitarian purpose only a generation before. I can picture her in that yard, carefully going about her chores.

I think about Abi, when she was a baby and I was sunning diapers in Colorado and thinking I was a nut job for washing all those things. I think about Liam, and how I held myself to impossible standards on a solid 3-4 hours of sleep per night and repeatedly left the diapers out in the rain.

And I think about the now, another short season of a sweet babe wrapped up close to me, of simplifying life enough to slow down and breathe it all in.

And maybe that’s why I do this silly little, totally unnecessary ritual- to slow down and connect with the generations I wish could be here to experience it with me. 

Leave a Reply

