What about those chickens?

That’s one of the most common questions I get when I tell people we’re moving…as in, moving right now. The chickens that looked like this in March:

favorite chick

And looked like this in early May:

<
chicks, 9 weeks

And looked like this on Saturday (and started laying eggs that same day….):

goodbye chicken

Saturday night I said goodbye to the chickens…I sold them to a family that already had a few; earlier in the week I gave a few to a friend. They even took my rooster, and the old cranky white one that doesn’t lay eggs. I really enjoyed having chickens. There were a few times that I didn’t enjoy it so much – mostly when it was over 90 degrees and I could smell them (although Wes says he couldn’t smell anything), and maybe when the rooster started crowing just a few weeks ago. Other than that, I loved it. I would do it all over again if I had the chance….and maybe next time get to reap the rewards (in egg form).

Leave a Reply

