Catching up

Well, it’s been nearly two months, so I’ll try to catch you up on our day-to-day headlines around here.

coop and moto

The Chickens Are Coming!

Yes, really. Wes built us a fantastic coop with attached run, and we have plans to build a movable run in the spring. I’m all set up now, all I need is the birds. I’m buying a few from my doctor sometime soon (yep, my doctor, the one that delivered Liam). Very excited, although now that we’ve invested the money and time to build the coop it seems less like a pipe dream and more like another early morning chore that I will soon be needing to take care of. Hmmm.

Cross Fit makes People Sore

Wes and I started Cross Fit mid-November. We are sore. So far I really like it. Especially the Olympic lifting part. I still haven’t quite gotten used to the idea that it’s totally okay to drop a big ol’ barbell down on the ground when you are done lifting it (as long as it has rubber plates on it). Also, it makes us both very sore.


Mother of Two Needs More To Do

Since I can barely keep up with the dishes and laundry and my actual paid work around here, it’s time to train for a triathlon. I have my sights set on the XTERRA East Championship in Richmond in June. I would like to finish without having leg cramps or crying, and also have fun. I should probably see a therapist.

Man Thinks Motorcycles and Chickens are the Same

Wes realized his dream of owning a motorcycle recently. He bought a dual sport off a friend. Now he wants to see if I need him to run to the store to get something about 5 times per day. He told me that the motorcycle was “his chickens”. I would like to see that big yellow monster lay an egg. You can catch a glimpse of it in the fist photo.

happy


Infant Chooses Naps Over Insanity for First Time, Parents Overjoyed

Liam is on a mommy-imposed schedule of two scheduled naps per day and it’s finally taking. He still wakes up 2-3 times per night but overall sleep and morale are improving. He’s also been busy trying really hard to crawl, cutting two teeth, doing sign language, and being cute.

Abi's Ballet Class

4 Year Old Girl Becomes World’s Youngest Expert on The Nutcracker

Abi loooooves her ballet class and is now up on all the latest Nutcracker gossip. Will Clara turn into a princess? Will that ugly Nutcracker make a decent prince? Who is the queen of the Land of Sweets? Abi knows. You should ask her.

IMGP1799


Family of Four Survives Christmas Revelry

We had quite a wonderful Christmas, with lots of great visiting, meeting our newest family member, fun activities, and of course, presents from doting Grandparents, Aunts, and Uncles. It was great.

3 responses to “Catching up

  1. LOVE the headline titles…and Wes’ analogy of the bike being his “chickens”. I am glad he realized his dream and help you realize yours for chickens. Maybe good gas mileage is his “egg”? I don’t think you want that bike dropping anything out.

  2. My sister got some chickens last year and we all love them! I don’t know so much about the chore thing, but they seem to be a joy for my brother and sister who do most of the taking care of. And they are super funny to watch run. Although they do cross the road often…I wonder why 🙂 Thanks for the update!!

  3. Good job Wes on the bike! All weekend errands should indeed be done on a bike if possible. Think how much you’re saving the environment!

Leave a Reply

