Top 10 things We’ll Miss…

We’re leaving Colorado in about 2 weeks, as in moving away from Colorado. It has been a long time coming. Most people move here and never come back, so it’s been a tough decision. I can see why that happens. 10 things we’ll miss:

1. Our small group – not something I blog about because it’s more a private part of our life, but these are the people we call when we need family. They’re incredibly loyal. This is what church really looks like – messy, relational, and real.
2. Play group – also not something I blog about for the same reasons, but this group of women has been so important to me over the last three years. They are an incredible group of ladies, and although it took me a while to warm up to the whole playgroup idea, I can’t even begin to explain how much strength I have gained from these other moms and their families. I’m going to miss them all.
3. Friends – people we’ve met though church, neighbors, work, students, triathlons, the Y, preschool: so many incredible people that have invested in us and that we’re blessed to know.
4. Open Space – not just the concept of public open space, but the Wide Open of being out west. I started dreaming about experiencing the West in middle school, and it has not dissappointed.
open space
5. Not being weirdos – okay, that might be a stretch. But we’re less weird here – nearly everyone bikes or runs and likes to be outside and involves their kids. We fit in (as much as possible, anyway).
racing
6. Umm….the skiing? Not gonna lie. I don’t call what I do “skiing” so much as “getting downhill with skis on while talking to myself loudly” but Wes can actually claim to ski. And I was surprised to find I love nordic skiing nearly as much as biking.
New_Skis
7. There really are no bugs here.
8. It’s really never humid here.
9. It hardly ever rains here.
10. We can look at the Rocky Mountains. Every single day. The first time I saw them 8 years ago I cried (okay, maybe it was the monotony of the plains that did it to me…) and I think know I’ll cry when we leave them.
play

3 responses to “Top 10 things We’ll Miss…

  1. You know you’ll always be welcome in our home whenever you want to visit. I feel very fortunate to have had you in my life for as long as I have (which is definitely not long enough). You’ve taught me a lot, made me think and helped me to be my own mom and person. We’ll miss you guys :(.

  2. Colorado will miss all 3 of you!! Being a native, you fit in perfectly here, not a weirdo, just a Coloradoan who loves the outdoors. You will be terribly missed and Jackson will miss his friend that is his size. I will miss our outings of intellectual discussions and just enjoying each others company. You are a wonderful Woman, Mother, Wife, Sister, Daughter, and Friend (all caps because those are titles you deserve!!). Will have to keep in touch for sure! Love and hugs!

  3. there is a fantastic place to XC ski in WV. I’m guessing it will be a 3 hr drive for you. It’s called Whitegrass. James and I went this winter and it is so much fun!

Leave a Reply

