Endurance of another kind

Things are tough right now. In my own body, in my family, in our country, in the world. So, sure, I feel down sometimes. But I have hope, yet it is not hope in anything specific happening and certainly not in my own fortitude.
However, maintaining that hope is requiring more endurance than I have had to apply to anything else in life. Circumstances threaten it daily, big ones and small ones. Going to physical therapy twice a week with no running on the horizon is requiring a different kind of endurance than any race I’ve ever completed. Staying positive in my thoughts requires work, really hard work.
The good thing is, the races I have done have taught me something that I can apply to the real stuff of life – that endurance is mostly trust that things will turn out on the other side regardless of how long it takes, and that enduring builds something intangible in character. I’ve also learned that endurance is 90% mental….and only 10% physical.
So, I’m hopeful I will have more race experiences in the future that are not only fun, but build endurance for the stuff of life – and in the mean time I will choose to keep pressing in, on, and mostly, up.
“let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us” – Hebrews 12:1b, and my current Word to live by…

One response to “Endurance of another kind

  1. I read your post a few days ago and have been thinking about it. You are an athlete of the deepest kind, and I am encouraged that you are looking to the Bible to hold onto the truth, no matter what is happening around you. I’ll keep you in my prayers, and run with perseverance!!

Leave a Reply

