“…..And NO Happiness!”

I’m going to undertake something very hard for me next week. Ok, not very hard, it’s actually nearly impossible. I am going to give up refined sugar for 3 weeks. And most gluten, and cheese, and processed foods. When I think of it that way it sounds horrible.
I am also going to give my body a gift – a vacation for 3 weeks. I am going to feed it with whole foods, way more vegetables than I normally eat, yummy fruit, nuts, high quality protein, rice, oats, and lots of water. When I think of it this way I feel a little better.
I have some ongoing health issues and I try to take the least amount of medication as possible. This led my family doctor (a DO) to recommend I go see a particular Naturopathic doctor. I was expecting quackery and a lot of strange tests and supplements. Instead, she suggested I essentially “detox” for 3 weeks to find out if I have an underlying food sensitivity (she doesn’t really like the term detox, since it can mean a lot of things). This isn’t a diet – I eat as much as I need to, making sure not to cut fat or calories. It’s more of a cleansing. The really hard part will be week 2, which is essentially a “Daniel Fast” if you are familiar with that term. The other 2 weeks I just eat the best food I can possibly eat, in week 3, adding possible allergens back in slowly. I also liked that she gave me a list of what TO eat, as well as a list of what NOT to eat.
I’m not convinced it will “work” but it certainly won’t hurt anything to try. I am expecting to have lower energy levels than normal as I adjust to losing my afternoon sugar highs. I’m approaching this as an experiment of sorts, and a chance to really eat well and thoughtfully. I’m also intrigued because the guidelines she set forth for me are almost exactly what a very wise man undertook several thousand years ago, with good results. Check this out:

1 Daniel: 11 Daniel then said to the guard whom the chief official had appointed over Daniel, Hananiah, Mishael and Azariah, 12 “Please test your servants for ten days: Give us nothing but vegetables to eat and water to drink. 13 Then compare our appearance with that of the young men who eat the royal food, and treat your servants in accordance with what you see.” 14 So he agreed to this and tested them for ten days.

15 At the end of the ten days they looked healthier and better nourished than any of the young men who ate the royal food. 16 So the guard took away their choice food and the wine they were to drink and gave them vegetables instead.

So we will see what happens, but on March 2, I’m going all in until I can’t stand it anymore! And I’m dragging Wes down with me….

One response to ““…..And NO Happiness!”

Leave a Reply

