Garden endings

Well, the end of the garden’s season just happened a little over a week ago. Sorry I’ve been so behind on the blog lately, somehow working part-time has significantly reduced my free time. I started out the garden this spring all gung-ho as usual, and we had a few successes and some interesting learning experiences.
Firstly, plant corn really close together. If you think it’s close enough, plant it closer. Otherwise you get some really weird-looking and barely edible ears of corn.
I also now know where the phrase “that doesn’t amount to a hill of beans” comes from. I think to get 1 pound of dried soup beans, we would have had to plant our entire backyard. And the neighbor’s, too. But they sure are pretty.
The tomatoes were happy, after the second round of planting (the ones I started from seed all died), so we had a pretty late harvest but they were good. Peppers – not so much. I give up on peppers out here in Colorado.
Out apple tree got a haircut in March, and it produced some good-size apples this year, although not in a large amount.
Finally – the Delicata (small winter) squash did really well. I’d plant more of those next year if I feel like doing all this watering.
We planted quite a few other things too, just in really small amounts. I’m not ready to convert my entire yard into food-growing, so I guess it was really optimistic to think that gardening would save money or give us tons of stuff to preserve and eat later. But experiments are always fun, right? Now if only I could turn cottonwood leaves into something edible, we would be in really good shape.
The fall "bounty" from our garden.

Something posessed me to buy an additional 25 lbs of maters and turn them into sauce - that became a family project.

Something posessed me to buy an additional 25 lbs of maters and turn them into sauce - that became a family project.

One response to “Garden endings

Leave a Reply

