Dirty bike

My mountain bike has been hanging in the garage since August 1. What was well-earned mud is now clumps of nasty dried dirt. The drivetrain, blackened from prior use, sits untouched and dusty. A race number is still firmly attached to the handlebars. This is the state of my bike today, 3 weeks later: still unridden, uncleaned, untouched.
If bikes are metaphors for their owners, then you can draw your own conclusions. The last 6 weeks have been a roller coaster of illness and injury (so very thankful that they are all minor) and change. One positive change is that I started teaching again last week, and I am loving it. I feel a sense of purpose when I am on campus. That’s something that has been fleeting as the summer winds down and I’m not sure where I’m headed in a lot of ways.
Today I got the email that I actually qualified for XTERRA Nationals in Utah at the end of September. Whether I will go or not remains to be seen, but I am okay waiting for that to come. In the meantime, I have a bike to clean. So I can get it dirty again.

2 responses to “Dirty bike

  1. Well, if it makes you feel any better, I still haven’t cleaned my bike from the adventure of meeting you guys two weeks ago. I have ridden a little though! By the way, we picked a lousy day to leave the mountains…it was COLD riding back up here!

  2. Glad you are enjoying teaching! You are a much better blogger than me. Thanks for your updates :o)

Leave a Reply

