The Deed is Done

I was super blessed to get a last-minute appointment for my knee surgery. I called Monday, and I had it done bright n’ early this morning. I haven’t run for 2 weeks and I am itching to get better. The knee was popping and locking (and not in a cool break-dancing kind of way) more than ever this week, so I know it was the right thing to do.
I’m at home recovering now and was treated to the dreamiest Vicadin-induced nap early this afternoon. Now I’m just on ibuprofen (I still can’t figure out how the nurse talked me into Vicadin, but I was still happy and sleepy from the anesthetic!) and feeling kinda achy and bored, but otherwise great.
When I came around in the recovery room, the CNA told me “You’re blessed.” I said “Huh?” He said “God is blessing you.” And I said “Yeah, He is. Thanks!” That was pretty cool.

This is your brain on drugs.

This is your brain on drugs.


I think I’m gonna wear these super hot compression stockings for my sister’s wedding. They will totally go with the dress, right sis?
My legs look awesome

My legs look awesome


I’m headed for PT Monday if all goes well and will be taking it really easy the next couple days. I am so bored I am inventing things to do! I was super blessed when my buddy Jay came by to see how things went and I also got to chat with Kim, Mom, and my sis today. Thanks guys for helping me stay sane!
I should be back on the bike by Monday, and swimming by a week from Friday. Running will be about a month away, but with PT and lots of time on the bike, my doc thinks the Adventure Race will be no problem. I can’t wait!

7 responses to “The Deed is Done

  1. I loved my compression socks! They are soooooo sexy! 😉

    I’m so glad everything went well. I wish we could come entertain you a little, but the in-laws are coming in town to see Tyler tomorrow. Where are you going for PT?

  2. Very cool compression stockings. Maybe a little compression is what I need — can’t seem to get going again after my semester “break”. I see you liked my suggestion for a blog heading picture. Neat!

  3. You’re so funny! I loved your pop and lock comment 🙂 and your awesome stockings. Maybe you can graduate to “strechy pants”. I hope PT goes really well on Monday and that God continues to bless you with an awesome and quick recovery! Say a prayer for my friend Janelle – she is on bedrest for two weeks – stir crazy xs 14:)

  4. WISHING YOU A QUICK RECOVERY AND GREAT PERFORMANCES..

    wow..that was a quick decision.. what did he do to your knee cartilage?

    love.Bonne Maman

  5. Hey, God is blessing you, you know. That’s way cool that someone would tell you that in the recovery room.

    Speedy recovery!

  6. Okay, I must admit…I thought your text to me the other day was you sending something to the wrong person. I can’t believe how quick this all went down. I must come by this weekend and bring you a dinner…or some dessert…or something! It seems like you are going to be back on your feet super soon!

    Wowzer!

  7. Hi,
    You showed up on my blog list under “environment” and I noticed you just had surgery on your knee – the exact surgery I went through. It really will heal nicely – the only advice I can give you is (and I am sure after reading your blogs about how active you are) exercise is the key. I was very slow at realizing this and then realized I was not making any progress, so I joined the local YMCA and began to swim each day. That worked for me and I never have a bit of trouble with it. I wish you well. Warm regards, Joanne Estes

Leave a Reply

