I think this is called a breakthrough…..

abi swim
Whenever I leave for swimming (which is a lot lately) Abi asks me the same questions. The conversation goes like this:
Abi: “Mommy? Pool? Swimming?”
me:”Yes, Mommy is going to go swim. Bye, baby.”
Abi: “Noodle?”
me:”I wish I could swim with a noodle, but I can’t.”
Abi: “No noodle. Mommy ducks?”
me: “No, I can’t swim with a duck either.”
Abi (looking confused): “Pool? Swimming?”
Well, the last two months of leaving my baby in the evenings two or three times a week and all the hard work is finally showing. After wanting to quit on Monday, I had a breakthrough workout yesterday. I’m finally consistent – and getting faster. Am I still the slowest one in that pool on Wednesdays? Yep. I also managed to inhale about a gallon of water last night too and thoroughly embarrassed myself. But somehow I managed to have my best (and longest) set ever and even got faster at the end of it. It was just the little spice I needed to keep going and I am very thankful for it. I’m also thankful for Sonja letting me call and gush about it after the workout too – I was so ecstatic it felt like I had just won a race or something! Here’s to improvement.

3 responses to “I think this is called a breakthrough…..

  1. That is so great, Laura!
    Perseverance pays off again! Yes, I know this feeling of a breakthrough – I used to have a lot of them when I was training with Felix Hell! That’s why I miss him so much. He would push and push and I would practice and practice (sometimes just going through the motions, wondering if I would ever feel natural at it) – and then, finally, one day – something would go right…..Lots of times only the individual knows, or the individual and the coach, but that doesn’t matter. When you feel it, you know it.
    Way to go!

Leave a Reply

