Another perfectly good weekend….

maddy
Spent doing this – curled up under a homemade quilt on the couch, Maddy at my feet, and my trusty bucket by my side. I’m hoping this one was the last hurrah for the slew of sicknesses we’ve had over the past month. I’ve been washing my hands so much that my skin looks alligator-ish.
I made that fall quilt in the picture about a month ago. At one point Wes said “Aww, don’t you feel loved, all curled up in your homemade quilt?” To which I replied, “Yeah, I guess I really just made this thing for myself.”
The only upside of all this? Being forced to slow down. I’m not big on slowing down or just being. I really like to get things done. When I can’t move, and all I can do is lay around, I get a whole new perspective on what goes on around me that I am typically oblivious to. Yesterday morning Wes went to church, and Abi and I just played for two hours in the playroom downstairs. She absolutely loved it, and while I normally strive to take time out to play I don’t think I ever do it for two hours straight. I laid on the floor (under my blanket) while she played over, under and around me. It was actually quite nice.
So, while I could look at this as yet another weekend ruined, I’m starting to have a different take on it. Maybe it’s yet another weekend that gave me the precious gift of just being in the moment.

3 responses to “Another perfectly good weekend….

  1. Motherhood is full of surprises! Not all of them are in the “fun” category. Moms don’t get sick days…Sounds like you had a good take on all of it. Wes, Abi and Maddy brought surprise blessings to you. Now you know your true buddies. Good thing you made yourself a quilt 🙂

  2. I know what you mean about wanting to do something. Just 3 months ago I got a bit of a new perspective about being “forced” to slow down, when two herniated discs in my neck and muscle spasms took control of the situation. The doctor said, “lay flat for 3 days” and really meant it. It gave me 3 days to be still.

    Being still can be kinda scary to a person that likes to be busy. I’m not a very patient patient. Normally sitting means that I have a computer in my lap. It was kinda tough to do, your lap isn’t very convenient when the rest of you is flat. So all I could do was talk or read a book held up over my face. When your in significant pain, talking is out so it left only one option. So I read the remainder of a book I’ve been reading called “Total Forgiveness” by R.T.Kendall along with reading the Bible. By the mid point of the second day I actually got to liking it. Normally I get maybe two hours a day for personal study but this was three whole days. It actually turned out to be quite awesome. I couldn’t help but think that Psalm 46:10, “Be still and know that I am God“, was for me that long weekend. God is like that sometimes, He doesn’t want us to have options, He wants us to know and trust Him. Psalm 62:8 says, “Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us.”

    I don’t recommend putting a hurtin’ on your bod’ just to get some time out of then daily routine, but when it happens it’s always good to stop and realize just how awesome life is and God who gave it. Only then can we say with the Psalmist in 34:1 “I will bless the Lord at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.”

  3. Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well. That’s a great perspective on taking it slowly sometimes, though. It’s fun when in the midst of working hard for life and grace, we can still enjoy the human comforts that God provides for us like having family around 🙂 how sweet.

Leave a Reply

