Race week

It’s down to race week and travel week here at the Johnson household. And wouldn’t you know it, we’re swimming in germs, AGAIN. Abi came down with strep on Friday and it hit me hard yesterday. Thankfully I’m tapering anyway, and the antibiotics should be kicking in any moment now. At least there’s a cure for strep, as opposed to the stomach flu, which appears to be our germ of choice.
I did have some time goals for the half-marathon on Saturday, but finishing strong is now the goal. Anna and I decided I shouldn’t race with the Forerunner anyway (it tells you real-time pace per mile) in order to keep my head in a good place. Just a regular old watch and some head math will do. Head math keeps me busy on long runs, ’cause I’m not very good at it.
It’s hard to remind myself that this race will be much easier than the trail half, because running hard is running hard, whether uphill, flat, trail, or pavement. I’m excited about the course, as it goes through many of the best spots in B-more and I haven’t been back in a long time. I am really looking forward to seeing family and friends this coming week and to getting healthy again. I will post pictures and updates as we have time during our whirlwind tour of the mid-Atlantic area!

3 responses to “Race week

  1. I am soo sorry to hear you got the strep germs! I will be praying for you. I know you will be excited about the race once you are there with your fam. I can’t wait to see you on Friday! Safe travels!

  2. Remember that the race is the award for putting in the hard training. Enjoy your reward, you deserve it! You are going to have a great time, I bet the tree colors will be awesome, and I know you are going have a blissful race. You always pull it together when it comes down to game time.

    We’ll be cheering and rooting for you here!

Leave a Reply

