Family Visit #1

We had Wes’ mom and Bonne Maman here this past weekend. It was a nice, relaxing visit, I think for all of us! Saturday we went to the Boulder Farmer’s Market, I can’t believe we had never been before, because it was awesome. We got lots of yummy food and had a great lunch when we got back. We also visited Red Rocks that afternoon and Wes and I got in a quick stairs workout while we toured around.

Yesterday Wes and I were able to steal away in the morning for a pre-ride of the Boulder Peak course with the Practical Coaching peeps. We missed Sonja and Troy out there, since they were under the weather, but we made some new friends and had a good time. I felt like a big idiot though, I didn’t realize we were on “the climb” – Old Stage, so I was saving it for later and couldn’t figure out why people were riding so hard. Then we go to the top and I didn’t realize it was now or never to catch a wheel and go hard. I also had no idea that triathletes’ idea of a group ride isn’t exactly what I am used to. So I rode most of the course by myself, just like I will in the race, and I put in a good tempo (sub race-pace) effort. I was a little disappointed in myself, because I know I can hang, but I was also pleased that I rode what I felt was right for my body, since I’m still recovering from about 3 days of not eating last week. I followed up with a quick run afterwards and we headed home. In the afternoon we toured the Phoenix Gold mine, a mom and pop operation near Idaho Springs. It was pretty fun to see what they are doing over there and how different it is from industrial mining operations.

All in all, it was a good weekend and we are just staying home trying to stay cool today. I’m trying to get my head in the right place for the Boulder Peak and stay really positive about it. My only goal for this race is: confidence. Confident swim, confident bike, confident run, confident transitions. Confidence pre-race and confidence post-race.

I am really anticipating this triathlon and also a little sad, since it is the last one I have planned for this year. I just found out my good friend Anna will be there with one of her athletes competing, and Sonja, Gaye, and several other friends will be doing the race as well. It should be a blast, and I am so excited to get to show my parents what I’ve been up to, since they fly in on Thursday!

3 responses to “Family Visit #1

  1. OK, you didn’t realize you were on the climb? Are you on drugs??? 😉 Holy crap, that hill kicked my butt! I did most of the ride by myself as well, so don’t feel bad. There were a few moments that I wasn’t sure I was going to make it. Of course, that was my first “real” climb (i.e. not pulling the Chariot through Chatfield). I was just happy I wasn’t the last one up the hill (although I was the last one back to the cars…my knee really started hurting on those rollers). I missed you at lunch, it was SO yummy!

    I’m so glad that there are going to be so many friendly faces up there this weekend. Of course most of them are going to finish WAY ahead of me, but that’s ok!

  2. I am soooo bummed that we are going to be in NM this weekend and I won’t be able to see all of you racing. I was really looking forward to it. All I can say is GOOD LUCK!!! and have lots of fun!

  3. Sorry about that Laura. I thought for some reason that I had told you how they usually “ride the ride”. Lots of the PC team is in that spot in their training where they are focusing much more on speed as it’s getting down to the end of the season. I did hear through the grapevine that Wes laid it down. I can just imagine him grumbling about all the stupid triathletes!

    It’s smart to go your pace, take in the course and prepare mentally for the race. I’m sure you got a lot out of the ride that you wouldn’t have if you were hanging onto someone’s wheel, pedaling for your life. Many of the speedsters have done this race multiple years, so they have different needs. Sorry to write a book on your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

