Baby hat

baby_hatI just finished making this hat for my daughter. The last sun hat ended up in our neighbor’s mower – don’t ask! I used a Simplicity pattern (don’t remember the number). I made the 18 month size but it was still a bit big. She loves it. I brought it in after her nap and she pointed to her head and said “Hat! Hat! HAAAAT!” I used a home dec fabric for the outside and the inner facing is a lightweight cotton. I didn’t have to buy anything to make it, so that was a plus. I am not too happy with the way it turned out. It’s kinda crookedy. But everything looks good on babies.

4 responses to “Baby hat

  1. Sooooooo cute!! Is it just the two layers of fabric? Did it need any sort of interfacing to stiffen up the brim? Your daughter looks so proud to wear it. 🙂

  2. Thanks! There is one layer of lightweight fusible interfacing in the brim – which really helps, I think it might be too floppy otherwise!

  3. I don’t know about the hat, but there is nothing crookedy about that model! She’s perfect! Maybe that’s why everything looks good on her. Consider this an impartial opinion.

Leave a Reply

