Training update

Tomorrow marks two weeks until my first triathlon! I am really excited and looking forward to it. I just signed up today, it’s the Littlefoot Triathlon in nearby Morrison.
I am really having to work through some things this week with my training, though. It’s been a tough one, mentally and physically. I talked with my friend Sonja the other day about some of the mental garbage I need to get rid of. She pointed out that if I had a bad pair of running shoes, I would go get new ones so that I was properly equipped for training. She said that getting rid of self-defeating thoughts is just as important, if not even more so! What an eye-opener!

Another bit of encouragement came in the mail this week, Bonne Maman (Wes’ grandmother) sent me a photocopy of the map of her first-ever triathlon. It was so neat to see a map from when triathlon was just getting going here in the U.S., and to read about her experiences.

I was further encouraged to think on positive things on my long run today. It was going poorly, I got blisters, I averaged over 10 minutes per mile pace (and I have been averaging more like 8:30) and Maddy kept running into me. The verse “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. (Phillipians 4:8)” popped into my head. No, I didn’t start running faster – but it reminded me that God has a lot to say on the subject of thoughts! I started noticing the birds chirping and the soft green colors starting to dot the landscape. I breathed in the brisk, fresh spring air and looked at the mountains jutting sharply out of the ground in the distance. Muuuuuch better!

One reason this week’s so hard is that I am wrapping up base training. This is the culmination of 12 weeks of working on my endurance and mental fitness and fitting training into the rest of my life! I am proud of what I have accomplished so far, but my legs are tired. That rest week coming up Monday is looking pretty good…..

2 responses to “Training update

  1. Laura, you are a Super Mom! for doing this while raising little Abigail and tending to her every need, being a wife, homemaker, and a wonderful daughter and sister, to your family. If you aren’t made of the right stuff to do this triathlon, then no one is!!!

  2. I second that! Just stay within yourself, keep the good thoughts rolling and you are well on your way to success!

Leave a Reply

