On Seeds

I finally have some seeds going for planting late this spring. They’re down in the laundry room under a grow light, and they seem to like it. I have three kinds of tomatoes and one kind of basil. This week, I’ll plant some cool-season crops outside in a new bed – lettuce, radishes, and kale. I have always been better at starting seeds than I have been at keeping them alive. Ideas are a strong point for me, consistent care is typically not. However, I can’t help but think that something is different this year. I think this year these little seeds are going to grow big and reward us with a harvest.

Sowing seeds always makes me think of Wes and I and the role we have had to play in the different communities we have been involved in. I think we have really been used as seed sowers. We rarely get to see fruit or harvest from the things we invest in, the things that are heavy on our hearts. I can’t help but sense that this season is going to be different in this regard as well.

One seed we sowed in Elko was starting a bike club. It was hard work, and it felt like we were often the only ones doing anything. Now that we’re gone, Elko Velo is flourishing and they are planning year 4 of the Lamoille Hill Climb, and event we pioneered. I am so proud of them. Not of us, of them. They are providing a wonderful alternative to the pervasive lifestyle in Elko and giving people a chance to enjoy God’s creation. This is just one fruit that we are finally seeing from some of the seeds we’ve sown. I’m so encouraged when I think that we are part of a bigger plan, a bigger story, and we just need to do our best with the things on our hearts and the giftings that we have.

36Even now the reaper draws his wages, even now he harvests the crop for eternal life, so that the sower and the reaper may be glad together. 37Thus the saying ‘One sows and another reaps’ is true. John 4:36-37

Posted by Picasa
2 responses to “On Seeds

  1. Gee, Laura, those seeds look a whole lot better than last time I saw those peat pots. They were floating in the sink in the laundry room and took me by surprise until I realized what they were!! You are so busy – I can’t believe you made time to sow those little seeds (and the big ones you mentioned, too). I am glad that you can look back and be happy about all the things you’ve gotten started. Many of us are enjoying Abigail very much and take great pleasure just in seeing her and seeing your family together.
    I am glad the bike club kept going, too. You gave a lot of yourselves to that group to get it flying.

    I just watched Peanuts version of the Wright Brothers at Kitty Hawk. Did you realize how many times and how many years their attempts at flying failed before they got off the ground? I enjoyed it and found it inspirational to think of their story.

  2. “Truly, truly, I say unto you, Unless a corn of wheat falls into the grounds and dies, it abides alone; but if it dies, it brings forth much fruit.” (John 12:24) Like the little seed in the ground we die to self; “…being rooted and grounded in [God’s] love (Eph 3:17). “For if we have been planted together…” (Rom 6:4,5) we have union with Christ. “…not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, through the living word of God” (1 Peter 1:23) How awesome is He who called us out of darkness into His glorious light.

Leave a Reply

