Weekend Fun


I am exhausted and ready for bed after a weekend of fun. Yesterday was the last Chilly Cheeks race, and because I remembered my Yaktrax and lots of layers, it was 70 degrees and sunny outside. This time we did a 10 mile bike followed by a 4 mile run. I was extremely thankful just to be healthy enough to race (I escaped the flu bug, thanks for the prayers)! However, 2 weeks of missing and sporadic workouts due to illness really took its toll. I cramped up on the last 2 miles of the run and felt like I was running underwater. Several friends of mine did the race, and Kevin and Katie came to watch as well, so that made it even more fun. Liz did really well in our age group, she had a great race! Lots of people came out of the woodwork for this one – where were they when it was 19 degrees and windy?
Dad J. and Janelle got here yesterday afternoon and we have had some nice visiting time. Today they watched Abi so Wes and I could get a ski day in. IT WAS THE GREATEST THING! We met Matt & Liz, drove up to Copper when the lifts opened and met Erica L. up there. We had a blast. I haven’t been alpine skiing in 2 years, and I was able to stay relaxed & link my turns and even did a black section through the trees with Wes – so fun. Wes worked on his tele turns and coached me through the steep stuff. There is no one I would rather be out skiing with than Wes (that’s him goofing off in the picture). Abi was really good and gave Wes and I big hugs when I got back, the first real hugs she has given me. It was so sweet!
My legs are tired, my face is windburned, my swim tomorrow a.m. sounds awful at this point, but I am happy. Wes and Abi are happy too. A great weekend!

4 responses to “Weekend Fun

  1. I have to agree with you Wes is the best person to ski with. He always makes it fun…even when it is tough.

Leave a Reply

