Chilly Cheeks #2


Yesterday was the second installment of the Chilly Cheeks Duathlon Series. We ran 1.5 miles, biked 3.3 miles, ran another 2.5 miles, and biked 6.6 miles in about 4 inches of slippery snow with ice hidden underneath. We had kind of a skeleton crew today as far as (former) mountain mamas and friends but we still had some fun.
I had a great cheering section thanks to Jayne and Monique being in town. I was pretty nervous and feeling unprepared, but it was fun and low-key just like last time. I ended up 3rd in my age group this time too, so I was really happy about that. I got to wear my sweet new tri shorts (under tights of course, I’m not that crazy) and I think they made me go a tad faster!
While I was running I was thinking a lot about if I am becoming a triathlete. I really look forward to all my workouts and I love the variety. But, I don’t think I’m a triathlete. I don’t even really think of myself as an athlete, just someone who loves to get outside and sweat. Athletes are always winners, right? I just like to have fun!

3 responses to “Chilly Cheeks #2

  1. noooo! my Running for Women book says something like you must first and foremost consider yourself an athlete. haha. But you can call yourself whatever you want, as long as you acknowledge that you’re amazing and energetic!

  2. Yes, you are an athlete! After all, isn’t that what you told me they tell those engineer types? They tell them they already ARE engineers the very first day of classes!

    You must believe you are an athlete in order to psyche yourself into winning! It doesn’t matter what else you do, at the moment that you are doing your athletic stuff, you are an athlete.

  3. you are too an athlete, always have been, always will be. It’s a state of mind, not a placing.

Leave a Reply

