6 Months Already


This past Monday, Abi turned 6 months old. I can’t believe she is 6 months already! Sometimes, it seems like she has just arrived, and other times, it seems as though she has always been here.
So many changes have taken place in this last 6 months – in Abi, in me, in our little family of three.

Abi has gone from the “larvae” stage: eating, sleeping, dirty diapers; to the infant stage: smiling, cooing, teething, looking at things; to the older baby stage: sitting, lunging, laughing, babbling, eating, playing, blowing raspberries, giving hugs, jumping. All in 6 short months.

I have gone from my control-freakish tendencies, needlessly worrying about myself, being in control of my own body and mind, and having things go my way; to letting go more, worrying needlessly about another human and forgetting myself, having no idea what is going to happen from one day to the next, and living more in the moment. All in 6 short months.

Our family has changed, too, from Wes and I always looking for new adventures to push ourselves and having things go the way (mostly) we plan them, work weeks getting a bit mundane; to including Abi in everything and going on new kinds of adventures with her, and work weeks (what day is it, anyway?) never getting boring.

I can’t believe how fast it has gone – that is such a cliche, but so very very true. I feel incredibly privileged to be at home with our little girl. Especially when I realize how quickly she will grow up.

5 responses to “6 Months Already

  1. Hey – I love to leggings! Abi, I wish I could see you grow up more. I can’t believe you are jumping!! Soon you’ll be choreographing dances with your mama. Laura, I remember my pastor from FL saying that he used to always tell his children “hurry up and have kids so you can learn something” – just how much we learn about live, and love and priorites from our kids! Sounds like you are learning a lot. Not sure that I am quite ready to hurry up yet:) !

    Love you all!

  2. Laura,
    I just love this pic of Abi. I miss you all so much. I dreamed of holding her and getting one of those precious hugs! 🙂
    Mom

  3. Abi is too cute! Reading your blog makes me feel more and more okay about having a baby. I think it is wonderful the changes that are happening in your life and how much you are learning. I wish I could be there and share this all with you personally, but I guess this will have to do. I can’t wait to see you next week!

  4. i enjoy your pictures and blog. this brings us closer and is great. i’m glad you are enjoying being a parent. i always did=or do,as the case may be.

  5. Hi LW&A,

    what a great post! It’s a good thing you’re writing all this down as it happens, because it becomes a blur when you look back. But you’ve got the right perspective; life gives us so many marvelous moment, and we need to savor them as they come. Abi is growing so fast, learning something new every day, it must be fabulous to share the discovery with her.

    (PS By the time Monique turned 3 and half, she always knew where the keys were – soon I learned to ask her first thing when I had a cerebral failure. So help is on the way!)

    Love – Byron

Leave a Reply

