Bouldering

Wes and I went bouldering and hiking this Saturday. It was a blast. This was my first time back in my climbing shoes since pregnancy & baby – way over a year. I think the last time we went climbing was right before Hans & Bernadette left Elko. I’m not crazy about bouldering or climbing, but sometimes I like the challenge.It was really relaxing – we just hiked around the park with Abi and Maddy and picked a couple of spots to play.

I finally conquered my fear of slabby top-outs. Slab is when there aren’t really any holds, but its at a low angle so your shoes stick and you can “just walk up” according to Wes. My hands are sweating just writing about this, no joke! I hate slabby stuff – it really messes with my head. I finally topped out (finished) on a slabby bouldering problem. I got the biggest rush! I’m sure it didn’t look like much, but for me it was a big accomplishment!

You can check out more pictures here.

Posted by Picasa
One response to “Bouldering

  1. I misssss climbing, your pictures make me super jealous! I think we need to get some group climbing happening again!
    The husbands would love us for it!
    Great job on the slab, slaby stuff is my favorite!

Leave a Reply

